* Page Loading - Please Wait *
View other acts in Staffordshire


Genre: Metal

Location: Tamworth, Staffordshire

This Act is currently unclaimed. If you are responsible for the act please claim control by Clicking Here

About Wolfsbane

Wolfsbane were formed in 1984 in Tamworth, England. They signed to Def American records, and Rick Rubin produced their first album, Live Fast, Die Fast, released in 1989. Prior to this they had recorded three demos entitled Wolfsbane (1985), Dancin’ Dirty (1987) and Wasted but Dangerous (1988). This last one, recorded at Square Dance Studios, Derby, U.K., illustrates the band in its youngest, rawest state. They were the supporting act for Iron Maiden’s UK division of their No Prayer on the Road tour in 1990.
Wolfsbane’s second release, an EP titled All Hell’s Breaking Loose Down at Little Kathy Wilson’s Place, was released the same year.
The band’s second full studio album Down Fall the Good Guys, was released in 1991, giving them their only UK Chart entry with their single “Ezy” charting at No. 68. Being an English band, signed to an American record label did not work out well for them. Def American dropped Wolfsbane as they felt that the band were not selling well enough. This did not stop the band from being voted as the UK’s best unsigned act in 1993. The same year, the band released a live album, Massive Noise Injection, through the Bronze Company label.
The band released their third studio album, often considered to be the band’s best work, the self-titled Wolfsbane, in 1994, again on the Bronze Company label. A limited edition of this album included the EP Everything Else.
However, when Bruce Dickinson left Iron Maiden, Blaze Bayley got the audition as their new singer and left Wolfsbane later on that year. Wolfsbane disbanded as a result.
Jason Edwards, Jeff Hateley, and Steve ‘Danger’ Ellett, the remaining members of Wolfsbane, joined with Jez Spencer to form the band Stretch in 1995. They released a 6-track mini-album World of Stretch on the Cottage Industry label.
Wolfsbane had a loyal fan base which they referred to as the HMS (Howling Mad Shitheads) which adorned many of the band’s t-shirts.

On September 9, 2007, Wolfsbane reformed for a one off short set at the Rock of Ages Festival in Tamworth. This was followed by their first UK tour in 13 years, with the band playing five dates as support for the The Wildhearts in December 2007. Their next tour came in December 2009 supporting The Quireboys on their ‘A Little Bit of What You Fancy 20th Anniversary Tour’.

On March 12, 2011, it was announced that Wolfsbane would release their new EP, Did It for the Money, on April 9.They played a headline show at the Borderline in London on the same day the new EP was released (April 9, 2011).This was followed by a tour supporting Saxon, in April 2011.
On October 7, 2011, it was announced that Wolfsbane would release their new album in 2012. Titled Wolfsbane Save the World,it will be available on the band’s official website as well as via the merchandise stand on the band’s upcoming tour.
On October 24, 2011 the band started their UK tour to promote their new album “Wolfsbane save the world”. On sale at the shows was a one off very limited special “The Lost Tapes A Secret History’. A previously unheard (except by members of the band and producer Simon Efemy) live in the studio recording. Only available to buy on this tour and so a very rare and limited edition.

Bandmembers :


Jase “the Ace” Edwards – Guitar
Jeff Hateley – Bass Guitar
“Blaze” Bayley Cooke – Vocals
Poo-Poos – Drums


Jase “the Ace” Edwards – Guitar
Jeff Hateley – Bass Guitar
“Blaze” Bayley Cooke – Vocals
Stakk Smasher – Drums


Jase “the Ace” Edwards – Guitar
Jeff Hateley – Bass Guitar
“Blaze” Bayley Cooke – Vocals
Steve “Danger” Ellett – Drums




Appearing at...
We don't currently have any future gigs listed for Wolfsbane.

Why not them on BandfinderUK to get updates?
Click the button for more details
No tracks added yet